Skip to content

On Blast!!!! The Indian Hair Company

Tuesday, January 5, 2010

What can I say?

     This commercial from the Indian Hair Company got me so peeved that I had to jump off my couch and write a heated post.

First off, her hair has never looked so fabulous before?

     All the celebrities are wearing…virgin human hair? What the hell ever happened to wearing your own natural hair? Kinky or straight?

     I was so incensed when I first saw that ad and the more I think about it the more I’m really really annoyed.

In the description section the company states

At Indian Hair Company we specialize in 100% genuine unprocessed virgin Indian remy hair. It is virgin, because it is guaranteed to be unprocessed, free of any hair color or chemicals. Our exceptional quality Indian virgin remy hair is authentic, genuine, pure, and unaltered by chemicals or color. What you receive is hair in its perfect state naturally strong, beautiful, and healthy.

     I’m confused, obviously it remains at your discretion but how is “beautiful, healthy hair” the selling point of this Indian weave?

     Why do I never hear of kinky hair being touted as such a godsend to the weave wearing women of the world.

     I admit that it may be my heated opinion but why is a black woman used as the sole advocate of this wonderful hair company?

I can think of two reasons:

1. Black women are the leading consumers.

2. Black women suffer from a bad hair image which makes them a vulnerable and viable target market.

     Altogether this reinforces my need to help others embrace their natural hair (however it grows) if only for a little while. My whole thing is that you can do the weave, you can do the straightening, but please, please don’t consider what pops out your scalp naturally to the least beautiful, or healthy kind of hair to have.

Be yourself,

17 Comments leave one →
  1. Andra permalink
    Friday, October 7, 2011 1:54 PM

    Not all people of color have the same texture hair. It’s all in how you treat your hair that depends on whether it’s “good” hair. All hair looks a mess when it isn’t combed I agree with that but not all women who wear weaves are ashamed of their natural hair. Everyone has their own reasons and their own opinions.I’m so tired of people saying that 1. black people can’t naturally have long hair. That’s a damn lie because almost everyone in my family has long hair and many of my friends do too. 2. If you wear a weave you’re “hiding the real you” or being “fake” or “ashamed”. To me personally I wear weaves/ extensions all the time and I take care of my own hair. I wear them because I can and I will. I will never be ashamed of anything about myself and if some women like to wear their naturally kinky hair straight/ relaxed or their naturally straight hair curly then that’s her business. I’m sure she doesn’t hate her hair. Extensions are like an accessory like make up or fake nails or an expensive pair of shoes. Am I ashamed of my face if I wear some bronzer and mascara? In the end in general I don’t really care if someone perceives me as something I’m not but I don’t like to be classified in one group for example “women who wear weaves are ashamed of their natural hair” or ect.

    • Friday, October 21, 2011 10:24 AM

      I agree with you one hundred percent. I am referring to the extreme negative side of your perspective though. I for one am fine with women who wear weave in so long as they express contentment with what naturally grows out of their scalp. I’ve seen some ladies wear their hair in these kick-ass styles and then when they feel like a change they do a weave. I’m fine with that. What I have a low tolerance for is someone who is ignorant about their natural hair but yet have so much complaining to do about it. So, don’t say your hair sucks if the longest you’ve wrangled with it sum total was three months out of your forty-five year old life. :)

      Thanks for stopping by! Enjoyed your commentary.

  2. Anonymous permalink
    Tuesday, September 20, 2011 12:26 AM

    Girl I have no problems wearing a weave in my head. I take good care of my hair underneath and I am currently transitioning to natural. I am so sick of you natural ladies bashing women that wear weaves. I don’t understand what the big deal is. I love the look of relaxed hair and i love the look of natural hair. Even when I am fully natural I will choose to wear a weave every now and then. So stop judging others because they decide to wear a weave.

  3. Allykat permalink
    Saturday, May 14, 2011 9:32 PM

    I just had to comment, I am a black woman myself and do not understand why is there always a bunch of rebuttals stating “oh its not just black women who wear weaves and blah blah blah. When the truth is black women are wearing indian freaken hair! Not afro textured nada! Sure some get there weaves processed to be more kinkier curly but damn no one ever points this out that silky straight and silky big loose wavy or curly hair off the heads of indian and chinese women is not your own god damn hair! Damn im so embarassed by the majority of black women seriously no wonder all races think we can’t grow our own hair and hate our natural hair even if its relaxed its gotta have extensions added to fake the funk.

    • Saturday, December 3, 2011 10:31 AM

      It’s not just black women that wear Indian hair. When I lived in the UK, I had a white client who loved Indian hair! Women where it, because it’s worth the money instead of BSS hair. BTW I don’t see many black women cutting their natural hair off left and right so we can wear it in it’s “natural state” if we decide to get a weave. I’m sure if there was a supply of long natural hair, we would use it too. haha. Also, yes, we are going to say other races wear weaves, because it’s TRUE!!! They are just more discreet about it, and I highly doubt other races care if our hair is in it’s natural state and how much we love/hate it that way.

  4. Tosin permalink
    Friday, November 5, 2010 3:40 PM

    U talk about wearing ur hair natural, when u perm ur hair is it natural any more, pls spare me all the bull crap abt being natural!

    • Saturday, November 6, 2010 12:36 AM

      I’d like to respond to you but I don’t know what you are talking about. My hair is no longer permed. I have zero perm in my hair. Thus…I am considered natural…

  5. Anonymous permalink
    Saturday, October 16, 2010 1:18 PM

    oh whatever! every race wears extensions now! i’m so sick of black women being like oh i have pride so my hair kinky is pretty. it’s not. it looks a hot ass mess, not combed and uh i’m sick of black people saying thats how you should look!!! that does not represent all of us.

    • Sunday, October 17, 2010 1:41 PM

      Wow. You’re mad. But you are right, every race wears extensions. What every race does not do is say that its natural hair is not pretty. This is what you’ve done when you say: “my hair kinky is pretty. it’s not. it looks a hot ass mess, not combed.” One, any race’s hair not combed looks like a hot ass mess. And, two, when kinky hair is combed, you can tell a difference. What is very sad is if you do not know the characteristics and behavior of what I assume to be your natural hair.

      Much love,

      Kinj

    • babydee1991 permalink
      Saturday, December 18, 2010 6:26 AM

      all black women dont have kinky hair, everyone is different, and all hair looks a hot mess wen not combed thats just common sense and i agree u dont have to wear weave to look pretty nun wrong with weave, i have micros now, and i too am natural, weave just adds versitillity and i wear my natural hair wen i want same as with the weave, nd im beautiful both ways with or w/o the weave im in no way shape or form insecure so i love my natural hair, just because my hair isnt bone straight doesnt mean i have bad hair, so this image woman have is stupid really

  6. Sherri permalink
    Monday, July 12, 2010 11:48 PM

    Hi. I am a Black woman and I have natural, nice, thick, hair that has always grown past my shoulders, BUT I am a slave to the weave. I like the wavy, straight, bouncy, carefree in all weather weaves that give me the “look” I desire. I am pregnant and having a girl and I do not want her to have the same insecurities of wearing her own natural hair instead of weaves. I dont know how I will do that when I (mommy) wears nothing but weaves. I know its wrong, but I am a slave to the “European Style” of what beautiful hair is.

    • Rachel permalink
      Tuesday, January 25, 2011 1:42 PM

      I hear you. In the same boat – I have a boy now, and am pregnant with what could be a girl (too soon to tell). Either way, I don’t want my son to think mommy is ashamed of her natural hair. I have been perm free for almost 6 years and get my hair pressed or wear weaves. I recently embraced the completely natural look (no press- no perm, just kink) over the summer because the humidity won and I was tired of doing weaveas and wigs, etc… and said the heck with it. At first my son didn’t know what was with my hair – then he said one day, “Mom, your hair is pretty.” I still like weaves – but there’s nothing wrong with natural. I am slowly coming around to that. Still trying to teach myself that my own hair is not a “hot ass mess.” LOL!

  7. Saturday, March 13, 2010 12:22 AM

    craizzz~

  8. Friday, January 29, 2010 5:26 PM

    that still look like some bomb ass hair

  9. Sunday permalink
    Tuesday, January 26, 2010 4:16 AM

    I’m so sick of all this craziness!

  10. Anonymous permalink
    Wednesday, January 6, 2010 8:18 AM

    It’s true and it’s sad very sad

Trackbacks

  1. 2010 in review: Thank you for viewing my blog! « The Natural Mane

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 85 other followers

