Skip to content

Managing Natural Hair: Quantifying Your Mane!

Thursday, October 29, 2009

Determining Hair Texture

Ok so on the 1- 4 scale I have discovered that I have 4 hair. My personal issue comes around with how the 4 type is scaled- a,b,c- now I have seen examples of 4c hair and they never mirror my hair texture. From what I’ve viewed, 4c is still some pretty soft texture; my hair on the other hand features a very tight coil (you can see how long my hair is flat ironed versus how long it natural and kinked up) so I don’t believe that I am in  the 4c category.

The Kinky Haired Mohawk Attempt 2

The Kinky Haired Mohawk Attempt 2

Now I have seen a longer scale up to around 4g/ h and that more accurately gauged my hair texture. Unfortunately however, most sites and most beauticians seem be only concerned with the a to c scale which only serves to ensure that my hair texture is lumped together with some very very different types of natural hair.

Consequently, I have a serious problem with how hair dresser treat natural hair and I am very wary of going to the “professionals”. Also on a personal note I am unable to be confident in the hair decisions that I have to make especially when they are recommended for 4c hair and I have to pause and wonder whether they mean my hair type really or if they are talking about the softer less tight coils. I believe this classification standard really matters because it really makes decision making easier; hair color, hair treatment, hair trims and cuts all are dependent upon the type of hair texture you have.

I’m all for being certain about what looks good on me, so issues like this are what drive me to find out information for myself because the information is certainly not readily out there.

These are my concerns,

Share

3 Comments leave one →
  1. mesha permalink
    Saturday, June 14, 2014 10:30 PM

    im currently transitioning,the last time my hair was natural was in grade three.i need tips on how to handle my hair so it can grow out.thank you

  2. Kyra permalink
    Wednesday, November 23, 2011 12:10 AM

    thanks for this blog! I am at a loss sometimes as to what category my hair falls into. I have tight coils that resemble tiny springs. I’m fairly new to this natural hair journey and I just get so frustrated sometimes because there is such limit to information about my hair type. will add you on twitter i’m @PinkDuchess21 🙂

  3. Tracy permalink
    Wednesday, January 13, 2010 1:48 PM

    Thank you for your comment. I am in the same boat…

Leave a Reply

