Skip to content

Coconut Oil and Natural Hair Care (2)

Saturday, October 31, 2009

What to Do When You Get the Coconut Oil

So you’ve purchased this glorious coconut oil, what do you do with it then?

Coconut Oil

Coconut Oil

     Well you have several options for how you can use this nutritious oil and these options range from skin care to fighting infections internally. Because we are dealing with the Natural Mane I will concentrate you on:

 1. How to store coconut oil.

 2. How to utilize coconut oil for any hair care process.

How to Store Coconut Oil

     Coconut oil does not require a refrigerator and ordinarily has a shelf life of 2-3 years. This can be extended by storing in the refrigerator.

  1. It is a good idea to store it in a dry place away from sunlight since light is a common damaging element for oils.
  2. Also keep away from high temperatures
  3. Keep the lid on the jar shut tightly as oxygen can spoil oils.

For more information on other substances (all natural and organic) which help to preserve coconut-oil try here.

How to Utilize Coconut Oil for Hair Care

  • First thing you need to know is that a small amount of coconut oil can go a very long way.

Right now I am using mine liquid so I’ll be going into detail with that method of use.

Hair Care Items 005

3oz. Bottle

     I usually take a small amount and place it a 3oz. bottle I bought for around 99 cents  at Target.

      From time to time depending on how the weather treats my hair and how well I have treated my own hair I will simply place a puddle in my hands and massage it into my scalp. Usually it takes three medium sized dollops (in ratio to my palm) to get my all of my hair moisturized. My next step is to take one last dollop and massage it specifically into my roots and scalp. Oftentimes if I just finished a blow out or heat style I’ll take the oil and specifically target the ends. This is particularly useful because after heating water returns the hair to its regular texture so putting my hair mix would defeat the purpose. 

Large Hair Spray Bottle

Large Hair Spray Bottle

     I also make my own hair care mix with some coconut oil, water and glycerin (I will discuss my method for making the hair mix in the near future). This hair mix I put in a professional spray bottle I bought at a tiny beauty store in Flushing, New York.

     I also used the oil not just to moisturize but as a conditioner as well. During the shampooing or conditioning process I will add a small amount of oil to the shampoo or conditioner.

     Coconut oil is great for deep conditioning. Apply generously to wet hair. Place a shower cap over hair. If you have a dryer sit under it (low heat) for eight to ten minutes or simply leave it on unheated for ten to fifteen minutes

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

