Skip to content

Who Got You Hooked?: Getting into Natural Hair Care

Monday, November 2, 2009

 

     I’m not going to lie, I definitely got the idea for this specific blog post from the site: http://www.textureplayground.com/blog/?p=1537

Still, this a question which I’m definitely interested in hearing some answers.

     Personally, I think I am simply the type of person who just loves to change things about herself. I love playing with my hair. I call it-  f***ing with my hair :). I’ve dyed it, chopped it, straightened it, braided it, weaved it- I’ve done everything! I decided to straighten my hair when I was fourteen. I was just miserable and depressed and felt like making a whopping change to my life so I went after my hair.

n651379688_1745251_7176

The braids thing...

The permed thing...

The permed thing...

Weave

The weave thing...

     I returned to my natural mane a year ago because I’m not one for routine. I hated having to straighten my hair every week, most of the time I’d go for much longer periods without a perm. However, my hair never went straight, no matter how many times nor which straightener I used. Needless to say this really pissed me off.

     Then I went short. Totally loved the look! But with my record I went ages without a perm and ended up with a lot of new growth. What can I say? I really hated spending my money on something like a perm. It was finally during my fall 2008 semester that I decided to just leave it be. I got braids put in and by the time I took them out I had even tons more new growth so over the xmas break I had my mother trim off the remaining straight ends.

I didn’t take care of my natural hair for a long time after. I was ignorant. I had no idea what to do with it.

4740_104429487118_507647118_2660301_2128540_n

TWA Stage- Had no clue!

It wasn’t until I returned to Barbados for the summer that I discovered the path of the Natural Mane :).

     You see my sister recently returned natural (this was her second time) and had become a guru on all things natural somewhere along the way. And she really got me on the path of righteousness. I finally understood my hair, and what to look for when it came to hair care. That’s the key I think, learning how to care for your hair.

My sister and I

My sister (on the left) opened my eyes to the twist out...

I remember being overjoyed upon learning that the best way to comb my hair would be to leave it damp.

It seems so simple but that definitely opened me up to the joys of my natural mane!

Funny thing is, once I understood my hair I loved the routine of it.

     Furthermore, I’ve gotten such great reviews (though I’m sure there is some negativity out there); I was in the Atlanta airport once and I got stopped in the bathroom by a transitioner; I was at a conference one time in Fairfax, Virginia, and got stopped by another transitioner who wanted tips on hair care products.

     Every moment I step outside I am helping the natural revolution. You can call it embracing Africanity or you can call it embracing Naturality. Either way it’s a revolution.

Midnight Madness 045

My three friends will be converts yet! 🙂

So my question to you is:

What got you started on the path of the natural mane? And what has your experience been like?

Share

3 Comments leave one →
  1. jamii permalink
    Wednesday, January 13, 2010 9:45 PM

    I was inspired by my own curiosity, beauty, and strive to be different. I had always wanted to do it, but I was worried about what others had to say. I tried a few times (about 2) and could not keep it going, especially without the support from family and friends. I wanted to go natural in college, but I felt like I still had to find myself, but I think going to school in ATL, really helped. Especially since I was from a small town. The big city, with all the different cultures and styles intertwining really opened my eyes and my mind. I also had an awesome hairdresser, who got my hair to grow long and healthy while still getting the relaxer, so I trusted her with my transition. After graduating, I felt more confident with my body, and my mind was stable enough to take the long journey to the natural mane!

  2. Latoya permalink
    Tuesday, November 17, 2009 7:48 AM

    aaaww! Thanks K! I have to say though my cousins Stacy and Ro both kinda inspired me!

    They are both natural (one with locks and one with natural hair) and I just love how stacy hair looked! Just so cute with her twist outs and stuff, so from there I decided it was time.

    Plus, I knew things had hit ROCK bottom when I started considering purchasing a lace front wig so that i caould cover up all the damage that I had done to my hair over time. That was IT! I had to go natural from there.

    But thank GOD for youtube and other natural websites online like this one, they really are a useful resource.

    Keep up the good work sis! And I think am working on an article, so readers look out!

  3. Wednesday, November 11, 2009 8:59 AM

    Hey there, My co-worker Maryetta was having a terrible time with scalp burns and was forced to go natural.

    I was envious of naturals for many years but didn’t have the guts to pursue it but knew that one day my time would come.

    After switching stylist 7 times in 3 1/2 years I was finally fed up.

    That was August 2007.

    In Februay 2010 I will celebrate my two-year nappiversary.

    This has been so freeing.

    I love my thick healthy hair and I love being different from the norm when I’m out and about so I don’t see my self ever turning back to the creamy crack. lol

Leave a Reply

