Skip to content

How to Do a Plait Out

Thursday, November 5, 2009

     So from my follow-up of the DIY Deep Conditioner, you will see my hair was in big plaits and I’ve been wearing beanies all week. Well today I undid the plaits!

The Plait Out

     I did a plait out (like a twist out only thing you start off with plaits). Undid each plait. and divided them into four. Depending on how well the hair covered my scalp , I form a claw with my hand, place my finger tips on the area and move my fingers around ( a bit like a scalp massage) I’ve found that this adds body to the hair and increases the illusion of coverage. When I say coverage I mean the piecey ness of the look- you don’t want a plait out where you can still easily see your scalp. Ensure that you slowly extricate your hand from the hair, do not pull out , you will snag hairs on the way and create havoc on the style.

     Unfortunately, I wet the last plait on the base of my neck while in the shower. This made it difficult for me to get a defined crinkle. My remedy to this was to use a towel to dry off the damp as much as possible then separate the hair into smaller sections before twisting (it’s not the same as a plait, but I was short on time and it gets the job done). I styled the rest of my hair and left the damp section for last (gave it more time to set basically).

If You Like Then Should put a Bow on It

     Initially I had on my usual head band, but I have this friend who has a great selection of bandos with bows. Here’s a tip, tie your hair up with your regular head band, then put on the bando, this way you get a tighter fit. This is especially for us afro’d/ kinky haired folk.

(See my Super Fly Bow! article under Hair Accessories)

Head Band- Bow 058

At the Front

As per usual, before I gel my hair I moisturized that portion of hair with shea butter first. This creates an excellent slick curl pattern. In this case I was doing the front. Sometimes I slick back really far down, approximately five fingers back (because I’m vain and I love to see when my waves form up something slick), but today I went with closer look.

What do you think?

Until next time,

❤ Kinjee

5 Comments leave one →
  1. Friday, August 25, 2017 8:32 PM

    I see your blog needs some fresh content.
    Writing manually takes a lot of time, but there is
    tool for this time consuming task, search for: unlimited content Wrastain’s tools

  2. Zoe permalink
    Tuesday, August 10, 2010 12:04 PM

    pretty!

  3. Latoya permalink
    Tuesday, November 10, 2009 11:33 AM

    I LOVE this page~cant wait to get length, and i think am gonna colour my hair more coppery brown! LIKE urs!

Trackbacks

  1. How to Preserve Twist Outs « The Natural Mane
  2. Super Fly Bow! « The Natural Mane

Leave a Reply

