Skip to content

DIY Hair Juice: Glycowater

Wednesday, November 11, 2009

Glycerin+ Coconut-oil+Water= Something spectacular for your hair

     The key to any hair care regimen is to have a moisturizing regimen which you do every morning or styling time and which is easy to do in a hurry.

     That said, the major trick under my sleeve is using glycowater. This is my savior when it comes to my hair. The mixture I’m speaking about (glycowater) can be adapted for use with any glycowater mix.

     The thing about glycerin is that it has to be mixed with water in order for it to not dry on the hair shaft itself with its humectant properties.

What You Need

  1. Glycerin, preferably vegetable glycerin
  2. Water,  water from the tap will suffice, but if you can boil it first to get rid of potential impurities, I sometimes use bottled water as well.
  3. Coconut oil
  4. Spoon
  5. Spray Bottle
  6. Towel/ napkins
  7. Measuring cup

measuringcup     Now I’ve been doing this for a while, so I don’t measure according to the metric system, instead I use sight to determine if my ratio is correct. The main reason for this is that I am using the measuring cup which came with the iron and does not have metric.

     Please, do not give up on this mix on your first second or your third try. The ratio for the glycowater is very dependent on your specific hair type. In some cases, your glycowater may feel sticky and icky on your hair in other cases you may find that your mix dries out your hair.

IMGP0479-vi

     If your hair dries out then there is too much water in the mix, try adding more glycerin or coconut oil.

     If your hair feels icky and sticky there is too much glycerin, try diluting the mix with water (NOT OIL).

     The crux of the matter is that there is a ratio involved, a typical ratio of glycerin:water is 2:3, which I try to use, but there is the 1:2 and I’ve even seen reports of a 1:1 ratio. I’ve never had any issues with icky residue but I have had some issues with my hair feeling dry. This is attributed to my lack of proper measuring implements. But sometimes the needs of my hair does differ from week to week, so that could be a reason as well.

     The addition of essential oils an other substances is tricky. For the most part you may have to manipulate the amounts based on trial and error. Too little oils will cause hair to feel drier. Too much oil may  cause it to feel icky.

     Consequently, how you fit glycowater into your regimen is dependent on your hair. Somedays, I have to spray everyday, but at this moment I’m doing once every two days, sometimes three. I recommend that before each spritz you swish the liquid around because the oil and the water may have separated while at rest.

     Even though you do not necessarily have to use coconut oil, I do recommend doing a glywater mix with some substance which imparts qualities on your hair which you may need beyond simply moisturizing. Manipulation is again essential because coconut oil on its own is a heavy substance hence you must dilute it properly or you risk clogging your hair follicles.

     I don’t mix alot of glycowater at a time. The first time I did mix alot and a few weeks later I noticed an offish smell soon thereafter it started to make my hair itch like crazy whenever I used it. There was at least two weeks worth left in the bottle when I finally decided to throw it away. Right now I use about half a cup (sometimes slightly a bit more) every two weeks. There are certain precautions to take to prevent scalp pimples and dirty scalps.

     Every time you make a new batch make sure you wash out the bottle.

     I’ve also heard that you can use a shot of vodka (here I am assuming any alcohol will do) in order to preserve your mix. However this is totally up to you, I have never tried it and I am personally wary of the potential effects of alcohol on my hair as it vaporates. I like to go organic and natural as possible when it comes to my hair so I’m into using essential oils or natural substances.

     This product should not create build up hair as glycerin is water soluble, every time you wash your hair the glycerin will be dissolved out, there is some chance though that the oils you add to your mix may cause build up. Glycerin also thermally protects your hair so if you really must heat treat it using a bit of this glycowater can help offset heat damage.

     I’m new to America so I have no idea where you can purchase glycerin, I myself got my glycerin from a small chinese store in Fluching, NY. Typical suggestions for those in my dilemma are Whole Foods and Walgreens (AfroCare $6). I do recommend that you look into buying it online, again, comparison of prices and customer reviews on sites like Amazon really make it easy to make purchases smartly. Look specifically for those who charge low on shippin.

     Try as best as you can to purchase 100% vegetable glycerin. Ensure there are no other ingredients than vegetable glycerin anything else is just a potential decrease in benefits. Note, vegetable glycerin should have no smell, I’ve never purchased any other kind so I’m of no help on the animal types.

Hope this helps,

❤ Kinjee

6 Comments leave one →
  1. iusedtolovehim permalink
    Tuesday, March 15, 2011 1:32 PM

    I know your post is older, but I just found it and I am still unsure of the measurements…like 1 cup water, 1/4 cup glycerine and 1/3 cup oil? Or somethign like that?

  2. Wednesday, November 25, 2009 11:12 AM

    lmao no i dont think so, other people use it all the time though i havent heard of anyone patenting it

Trackbacks

  1. Hair Update « The Natural Mane
  2. Glycowater Tip « The Natural Mane
  3. How to Preserve Twist Outs « The Natural Mane
  4. Hair Mystery: Texture Appearance « The Natural Mane

Leave a Reply

