Skip to content

Edgy Kinky Hairstyle Spotlight: The Noisettes

Friday, November 20, 2009

 More precisely, the lead singer Shingai Shoniwa.

Damn.

      I wasn’t going to get into the whole celebrity hairstyle thing but a few moments after putting my thinking cap on I saw the music video for one of the Noisettes’ latest songs. I couldn’t help thinking, “Here is a stellar example of edge and 4b hair”.

     Of course I’m not nearly as bold or eclectic as Shingai but her style has given me some inspiration to unleash all my edgy goodness. Note, all her styles feature a wacky hawk. I’d never have thought there were so many ways to do the same version of a hairstyle. The first photo in the last row is her hair actually just brushed straight up in a pseudo flat top style. I likey though I’m not sure how I could adapt that for my kind of do.

     Still, it’s awesome to have such high fashion photos to view. Now I wish that I could get an interview with her. I wonder what hair type she is; I wonder what her hair regime is; I wonder what her inspiration is; I wonder if she ever permed her hair; I wonder I wonder I wonder!

The dreams of a newbie to the natural mane,

Go ahead, edge it out!

Go ahead and check out my own attempt at an edgy hairstyle.

❤ Kinjee

4 Comments leave one →
  1. Saturday, June 2, 2012 7:43 AM

    Hmmm, nice blog. Glad I stumbled on it.

  2. NateIsAGirl'sName permalink
    Saturday, July 24, 2010 12:32 PM

    My goodness. I had an inactive private blog until just now. and wordpress kept linking my comments to it…I don’t know why. I’m adding the address of my blog to this comment so you can have the accurate address. ( it can be deleted if you like)

    nateisagirlsname.wordpress.com.

    My hair is at about 1 1/2 inches. I keep it short b/c my hair grade varies and I can’t seem to do much with it. 🙂

  3. NateIsAGirl'sName permalink
    Saturday, July 24, 2010 9:02 AM

    I’m currently natural and I just WISH I could pull of her styles. Great post! Thanks. 🙂

    • Saturday, July 24, 2010 10:39 AM

      Thanks. And thanks for visiting my blog. How long is your hair now tho?

      Tried to visit your blog but its password protected. 😦

Leave a Reply

