Skip to content

A Black Tie/ Formal Event and Natural Hair

Saturday, December 5, 2009

     For a while now I have been wondering whether my natural hair could possibly fit in to a black tie/ formal affair.

     Just last night I attended a Gala in honor of Barbados’ 43rd Independence and boy was it nice. The affair was held at the opulent Martin’s West in Baltimore, Maryland.

     Sure it was a gala and yes it was funny to hear some bajans try to talk proper but over all it was really nice. Even though I sat at a table by myself I was consoled to know that I was walking around looking like this

     Fairly lucky timing was that I had my hair in cornrows when I received short notice of the event. So I got two or three of my friend to help me unplait my hair quickly, I spritzed, slicked my hair back with my usually black band and that was it. As a result, I had that wavy plait out texture to work with which in my opinion looks much nicer for an occasion like this.

     Next, I decided to go with an up do which meant a tighter puff and which I felt looked a bit more appropriate for the occasion.

Then ta-da! hair style complete.

     It really is amazing what a nice dress and some simple jewelry can produce. Only thing I would have preferred was to have had more time to get the front my hair super wavy slicked.

     Still all’s well that ends well eh?

     To adaptable natural manes,

5 Comments leave one →
  1. pamela kirton permalink
    Monday, December 7, 2009 12:19 PM

    U looked just adorable.

  2. Latoya permalink
    Monday, December 7, 2009 8:10 AM

    OMG! U look FABULOUS!!!

    • Monday, December 7, 2009 10:48 AM

      thankssss I felt fabulous, the dress was a nice one.

  3. Sunday, December 6, 2009 3:50 PM

    You look gorgeous! Way to represent at the gala!

    • Sunday, December 6, 2009 9:11 PM

      Thank you so much!

Leave a Reply

