Skip to content

Faux Fro?

Thursday, December 10, 2009

     I’ve tried in the privacy of my dorm room to do my hair in a fro. After a shower I always come back to my room and try out a wash and go look.

I never like either.

In my opinion they just look wierd.

W-i-e-r-d.

     But they are the epitome of natural hair aren’t they. They are no longer the everything of natural hair styles but still, who wants to go natural and NOT be able to rock a fro?

My despair knows no bounds.

Today I appeased myself a bit by doing what I will call a faux fro

     Instead of placing my head band further back I did it close to my crown so that I still had the big fro effect but didn’t have my pet peeve with fros- my forehead looks odd. The hair just doesn’t look good on my head and my face, this might be as a result of my hair texture or my hair length I’m not sure. On the other hand, I’m pioneering this for myself right now, I’ve never seen a 4b medium length afro that was not a blow out to begin with. So I might just not have a good example to work with.

    To be more convincing I will post a photo of my past failures. I’ll do that at the end of today when my hair will no longer have to be in the public eye.

5 Comments leave one →
  1. Reshell permalink
    Friday, January 7, 2011 10:27 AM

    Your hair looks great to me and i like your hair colour. Here is a trick i used when i used to do my hair in a fro i would put my hair in a hair band as far as yours is in the pic and comb it and put a thin hair net over the fro and pat and i looks perfectly round and even and you cant see the hair net. Lol r u from barbados? Im from there

    • Friday, January 7, 2011 2:05 PM

      Yep I’m from Barbados… I’ll see if I can locate a hair net at the beauty store nearby

  2. Anonymous permalink
    Friday, December 11, 2009 12:31 PM

    show us ur attempts at fros

    • Friday, December 11, 2009 1:09 PM

      They’res coming…just took a couple this morning

      • Anonymous permalink
        Thursday, January 28, 2010 7:11 AM

        When I do my Afro I section my hair into four and do three braids on each section. Then I just pick it out in the morning.by the way my hair is a little shorter then yours and my fro still comes out huge.we also have the same hair type!

Leave a Reply

