Skip to content

Hair Update: The No Comb Thing

Friday, January 22, 2010

After officially ending my no comb journey with a nice combing, I have yet to  do a post about it.

This should address that little oversight.

     Overall, the experience was interesting, it’s always nice to see and understand how your hair responds to different conditions. However, I have to say that I discourage anyone from everrrrrr doing it. In case you didn’t know, I went for two months (possibly a little longer) without combing my hair and while there was no noticeable difference in the amount of breakage (there was little to no hair in my comb when I did comb it) there was the matter of knotted strands.

     By the end of my experiment, many of my hair strands that I managed to get a look at had knots on the ends. I know that this is as a result of not combing because I had only ever spotted a knotted strand once or twice. Previously the only reason I knew about knotted strands was because of my research and having seen some photographs. From my research knotted is not good. Basically, the knot creates a stress point for the hair strand and a highly increased potential for complications such as breakage. Still, my fingers are crossed that with good care I won’t run into these issues :s .

     So two months is definitely too long. I actually wouldn’t even recommend a week. I recommend that a couple of days be the maximum duration of time you go without combing your hair.

     One last thing. If you are not combing regularly you get these hair strands I can only call hangers because they are hooked up with other hairs and won’t come out unless you comb your hair. You end up having your hair look like you need a trim and instead of shedding all at once (through combing), throughout the day you find yourself pulling out hangers. Ugh!

     I guess what I really really learned was the overall importance of hair combing and why it’s ABSOLUTELY necessary that we do it!

To lessons learned,

3 Comments leave one →
  1. Sabby permalink
    Sunday, December 26, 2010 7:57 PM

    The single strand knots happen no matter what. Finger combing frequently (that is with conditioner in your hair) is a better way to detangle. Using a comb to detangle your hair is really not all that necessary. Just think about it for a second, if you comb your hair now, wait 2 hours and comb it again, your comb will encounter knots because of the way your hair strands naturally interact with each other. It doesn’t make sense to try to force it into an unnatural conformation and expect it to stay. Combs are for readjusting straight hairs, which is why the teeth are aligned as they are.

    • Monday, December 27, 2010 12:23 AM

      interesting take on the comb thanks…i like

  2. Sunday permalink
    Tuesday, January 26, 2010 4:19 AM

    Good point.

Leave a Reply

