Skip to content

Candids: National Prayer Breakfast 2010

Sunday, February 7, 2010

I recently attended the National Prayer Breakfast at the Hilton Washington in DC.

It was hectic, but in hindsight a wonderful experience.

The dress code was business professional. How did my hair fit in? It didn’t. I’m sure I could count black people on one hand and I saw only one other chick with braids in. I definitely didn’t catch a glimpse of anyone with a fro like mine but nevermind that, your girl represented anyway.

Toward the end of the weekend I received various compliments about my hair.

Questions about hair color, how I styled my hair and why I have the hair I do.

I could tell some people were having whoa moments but it was cool.

I’d be lying if I didn’t say I felt as though my hair was out of place- with all the length and blonde and brunette and type 1 hair.

Why does it matter?

It just does. 

It’s almost like being a singular representation of a dying hair culture and I always want to do my best to represent it well, you know- brushed, combed and luscious and neat.

Which will explain to you the great fuss I made of taking photos of me all dolled up.

The end.

One Comment leave one →
  1. Anonymousd permalink
    Monday, February 8, 2010 7:38 PM

    Your cute in these pics..and smiling..and happy.loooking i like….also you need to fill us in on how those convos went down..it’s be nice to know ur experience

Leave a Reply

