Skip to content

Candids: Twist Out Mohawk + Coppin State University Homecoming

Sunday, February 28, 2010

     Homecoming weekend ended with a party at Velvet Rope in Downtown Baltimore. I dressed up to suit even doing my hair in a hairstyle I’ve never attempted before.Naturally due to all the effort and forethought that went into this four-fer hairstyle I will be posting a tutorial about it. Note the new term four-fer, I say a four-fer because this hairdo begins as one style and has four stages by the time you do everything and end up with the final style. The final stage isn’t even posted here. The wonderful thing about a four-fer ( or any X- fer there is) is that you get to wear it outside, in public, at each individual stage. It’s transitional and very cost effective.

     See stage 3 in the photos posted below.

 

I like that this photo allows you to see the fauxhawk from that back as well as the front.

In the picture below G (the newly natural gal pal) is in the hat looking fly.

After the club, we were outside waiting in line to pay our parking fee, dude walks through the crowd and stops just by me and says, “I really like your locs” he busied himself with something else and then a few seconds later he goes, “No seriously, I reallllly like your hair”.

Thank you sir,

7 Comments leave one →
  1. Saturday, January 8, 2011 7:11 AM

    Much Respect for you having natural hair – have you always been pro – natural? If not what made you decide to go all natural?

    • Saturday, January 8, 2011 6:43 PM

      No. I havent always been pro natural. I was natural till fourteen then I got bored and got a perm…had that for four years then at eighteen i could not be bothered to continue perming so I just chopped off and then I was natural…I only got pro natural after my sister introduced me to a better way to take my hair…and then I actually felt some pride…then I was pro natural…too many black chix are walking around and I can’t see who they are…I just want to see some of me…as it should be..

      • Sunday, January 9, 2011 10:10 AM

        After reading your respectful and thorough reply we thought of the following (tell us what you think) – barber clippers did not grow on trees neither did sodium hydroxide (so to speak). What makes some of us so afraid to be who we are? We brainwash our youth with little comment of fear like “If you don’t get your haircut you won’t get a job.” Like you said pride – if you show a child that you are so afraid of being who you are they can never be who they are because they know you wont accept it. Not to mention that based on that single comment, the parent wants the child to be an employee all their life rather than an employer only an employer can employee THE PEOPLE (which are your only options in this world). We used to wear our hair however we wanted (pre-1500s) and uphold OUR culture – how do we get that back? eurocentrism may equate to power but it is corrupt power. We lost when money became the currency instead of our abundant gold. We have noticed that once one grows out their hair a transformation happens. Let us ask you this as well, you ever notice your hair grows up like a living plant versus down like europeans? – their is something powerful in that – what we do not know. Thanks for reading all of this and we can not wait to read your response. Oh and do you believe that weave equates to the sickness known as self-hatred?

  2. Monday, March 1, 2010 10:51 AM

    You look amazing!! Love the whole look!

  3. Sunday, February 28, 2010 11:20 PM

    Thank you guys!

  4. Camille permalink
    Sunday, February 28, 2010 9:57 PM

    you look so niiiice

  5. Sunday, February 28, 2010 6:25 PM

    Umm but Nkenge, why ya look so stunning?

    And you’re hair wow, everything just wukkin for you in these pics.

Leave a Reply

