Skip to content

Some Hairinspiration from Nigeria

Tuesday, March 30, 2010

Black.

Kinky.

Textured.

African.

Afrocentric.

Whatever.

I remember when I was younger there was a book my mum borrowed from the library which was about african hairstyles and oui papa! the inventive styles they came up with was mind blowing.

I came across this particular online album today and I thought it was worth sharing.

Yes,  realise some of the styles are a bit out there but I see no reason why we couldn’t change and adapt some of these styles a little or alot.

Looking these over I can see an immense ammount of creativity. Gosh I wish there was a star out there who could make one of these as mainstream as a mohawk! Thinking it over I also realise that if a regular chick did any of these it’d be on mediatakeout labeled as g-h-e-t-t-o.

No lie though, I was looking some of these photos for the nth time and I was wondering the things the do to their hair in these photos, that would have to be some long a– kinky hair!

Yes I have an obsession with length. I wish I could see a photo with one of these chick’s hair billowing in the wind, certain that it was not aided with weave.

Sigh.

Is it but a dream?

8 Comments leave one →
  1. kem permalink
    Thursday, January 24, 2013 1:22 AM

    I love what you are doing keep it up.Its an encouragment for me.

  2. kem permalink
    Thursday, January 24, 2013 1:20 AM

    these hair styles are good but they were worn by women of old in Nigeria to be precise. There are new beautiful styles especially those worn by students in the secondary schools and some naturalistas around here
    .Am a Nigerian,born and still live in Nigeria.

  3. SundayKnight permalink
    Monday, May 31, 2010 2:55 PM

    Beautiful styles! Thank you for the pics.

  4. Wednesday, May 26, 2010 4:25 PM

    Yeah, I know what you mean about the ghetto label–cultural retentions are too quickly dismissed with negative labels when they don’t fit the norm.

    I’ve seen a few of the styles adapted into mainstream culture–definitely the cornrows…and Larenz Tate wore that last style in the movie “Menace to Society” back in, like, 93.

    • Thursday, May 27, 2010 1:24 PM

      Thanks for the comment…googling Lorenz Tate now!

  5. Gigi permalink
    Tuesday, March 30, 2010 6:23 PM

    That last photo. I had that style in the 3rd grade. My mother’s was friends with a lady from Liberia and she put them in for me. I got teased so bad that I took them out the next day.

    • Tuesday, March 30, 2010 6:38 PM

      awww that sucks!!!! loking back do you think maybe you cud have left them in? its definitely not a fit-in sort of style tho

Trackbacks

  1. Tweets that mention Some Hairinspiration from Nigeria « The Natural Mane -- Topsy.com

Leave a Reply

