Skip to content

Essence Magazine on BLAST! (VIDEO)

Monday, April 19, 2010

Through the #naturalhair on twitter I found this YouTube video posted by AmaryllisTV. It is very true and very real. I’ve noticed what she’s described myself and I am quite honestly so sick of it. No wonder how little black girls grow up not knowing how to manage their natural hair.

If the blogs I’ve seen could come together to host a genuine, contemporary, street look magazine, that dealt with real issues and MY real hair, I would be so grateful and happy. It’s about that time that we see what we need to see and not that crap which has no real bearing on who or what we are. I’m a hardline believer that some of what we see becomes some of what we are, it’s unavoidable, and if all we see is straight straight straight, and weave weave weave, what else should we expect our younger selves to aspire for?!

To yours and my full-page spread one day, everyday for the rest of our lives,

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

