Skip to content

I Dyed My Hair Ruby Rage (Clairol Texture & Tones 6R)

Thursday, June 24, 2010

| View Show | Create Your Own

[Editors note: I think there has been a mistake, the pics of me with the really red hair is not the end result of the dye, that is with the dye still in and it represent the color I am actually aiming to achieve. The pics with me with cornrows represent the final color after the hair dye was actually rinsed out completely.]

I’ve been threatening whoever would listen that I was going to dye my hair red for months now. What can I say, when I get antsy or depressed or bored I have to do something to myself; my hair just happens to be the biggest loudest target.

The type of red I was going for was kool aid candy red; not so much an actually occuring human hair color red.

Nevertheless, I figured I would start small and work my way up which brings me to the Ruby Rage hair color. Believe it or not I was standing in the store holding two types of blonde before I finally settled on something in the red category and resigned myself to potentially having to give my hair a rinse in order to get the candy color I want.


The color did come out like the color on the box but…

… I definitely prefer the color I had while the dye was in!

After I washed the dye completely out of my hair this is what I ended up with( sorry but I took the photos after they were already cornrowed). It’s still very auburnish, like a mix up between a auburn and a burgundy.


As I am one to wear my hair pulled back, I don’t really like the patch dark brown that I have going on since it creates a very uneven look. When my hair is in a fro it’s ok but as I rarely do that I’ll have to deal with it quickly.

I am definitely going to dye my hair over in my quest for my perfect red but I’m not yet certain what strategy I’m going to take.

On another note, I loved the texture hair I had when the dye was all coiled up. I wish I could find a hair product which simulated it.

Almost reddy,

Check out part II to this and see the actual color I got.


15 Comments leave one →
  1. Jane permalink
    Saturday, July 20, 2013 10:25 PM

    hey how many boxes did you use?

  2. Thursday, November 3, 2011 7:47 PM

    I’m gonna dye my hair with this.
    How long did u leave it in?
    Maybe if u let it sit longer it would have been reder.

  3. sabrina permalink
    Saturday, April 23, 2011 6:28 PM

    how often do you dye your hair

    • Wednesday, April 27, 2011 10:09 PM

      Lmao whenever the thought occurs to me…sometimes twice a month…sometimes twice a year…depends on whether im doing something gradually…or just tinkering around with my color…I tinker alot lol

      • Thursday, June 25, 2015 2:46 PM

        I used the same dye and had pretty similar results. I also loved how my hair looked with the dye in and wish there was a product to simulate it lol.

  4. sabrina permalink
    Saturday, April 23, 2011 6:26 PM

    I think i have the same texture of hair you have when i dye my hair or put shampoo and contitioner in my hair it coils up the way i want it but when i wash it out its not coiled anymore i wish i could get something to keep mine to stay that way

    • Wednesday, April 27, 2011 10:12 PM

      Oooh….so i’ve discovered that if I make up a solution of damp hair and shea butter and hair gel…I can nearly get the texture that I get when dye is in it…hope that helps

  5. Nickesha C. Sanders permalink
    Monday, January 31, 2011 11:51 PM

    The trick is to mix your desired color with the lightest blond color. Then you get the color you desire. I just mix the two boxed colors in a 99cent squeeze bottle. Use equal parts of course.

    • Tuesday, February 1, 2011 1:06 PM

      Good idea thanks!… I was just about to foray into dye mixing myself…stay tuned for my next hair color!

  6. Tyra permalink
    Tuesday, December 7, 2010 11:48 AM

    Hi! I was googling this hair color to show a coworker when I noticed that you are also looking for a product that gave you hair the look that the color gave you while it was in your hair. Well, I work a Trichologist, Lisa Akbari who has a product that I believe you’ll be interested in. The product is called Naturally Textured. It gives your hair the textured look without the chemical. You can go to to check it out or feel free to email at I’m one of her consultants and I’ll be glad to answer some of your questions.

  7. Tuesday, November 16, 2010 11:16 PM

    Man I’ve been looking for a perfect red that looked good on black women because I want red hair for my birthday. Im glad you posted pictures so I could actually see how it comes out. It looked great! However I am kind of concerned about the dye doing that to your edges. :-/ Hopefully my hair comes out like the first picture.

  8. Friday, June 25, 2010 3:49 PM

    OMG I used the same color. I love it. Looks great on you.

    • Friday, June 25, 2010 11:12 PM

      That so cool. Do you have any pics of ?

  9. Thursday, June 24, 2010 5:03 PM

    Wow! U really did it! I gotta see it in person.

    • Thursday, June 24, 2010 5:14 PM

      Yup. but I have to do a bit more to it to get it how I want :(

Leave a Reply

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 86 other followers

