Skip to content

A Lovely Realization

Sunday, July 18, 2010

Yesterday I’m washing my hair and I realize, wow I’ve reach that point where I can no longer comb my hair straight through. I have to do the comb ends then comb roots thing. Also, I can fully grip my hair and still have hair visible.

I tend to not appreciate nor realize that my hair grows. If you had to listen to me you’d think I have the same length as when I first started. The only way I really notice is after dying my hair; that tell-tale line of demarcation that separates new growth from the dye is awesome! That way I can actually see progress with my own eyes. 

In addition, I have realized that my hair handles differently now. And I attribute this to the length. I experience a different kind of manageability. Go figure that I’ve reached the stage where I’m comfortable just brushing it down and wearing a head band. I say give me a few weeks and I’ll be perfectly peachy wearing a wash n go everyday.

What says ye?

Share

2 Comments leave one →
  1. Thursday, July 22, 2010 1:58 AM

    I agree that growth often creeps up on us. I’ve found that documenting my progress with pictures helps tremendously.

    As for my hair acting differently as it grew, the main thing I noticed was that my roots don’t tangle as easily.

    I’m a freeform dread so my roots are loose and nappy. When my dreads were younger they tended to clump and marry much easier. Now, I can pretty much just run a hand through my hair after washing and everything untangles.

    Love your, site, btw. Keep up the good work!

    • Friday, July 23, 2010 12:22 AM

      I like documenting my hair in pics too but most of the time its soooo kinked up its hard to tell anything happened

Leave a Reply

