Skip to content

Someone with hair like mine is in the Radio City Rockettes!

Friday, July 23, 2010

Imagine seeing this troupe of leggy ladies for the first time. I’m sure you’re thinking stage, glitz and glamor, slicked, straightened and weaved.

 

 I am certain you were not thinking kinky, 4b natural.

Today I was doing my regular blog trolling when I came across this article and these photos

[Editor’s note: Unfortunately the photos I found were requested taken down by the photographer. Rest assured though, there is a Rockette with natural kinky hair.]

I was shocked to see the girl with the kinky hair. So shocked that I immediately thought 1) I have to find her and 2) I have to do a post on this.

I would love to interview her and get an idea of her experiences in the entertainment/ dance industry, but I can’t find her. I googled the Rockettes to death and couldn’t find a list of any the performers.

If you have any ideas, please pass them on to me.

Share

9 Comments leave one →
  1. amiga permalink
    Tuesday, July 27, 2010 1:22 PM

    I want to go natural too…bt without cutting my already permed hair…what do I need to do?? the blog is fantaBulous….

    • Wednesday, July 28, 2010 12:08 AM

      Thanks.

      Ok I’ll write a post just for you.

  2. Raechel permalink
    Monday, July 26, 2010 4:00 AM

    I was thinking the same thing! She looked great too! 🙂

  3. Ashleigh permalink
    Sunday, July 25, 2010 4:30 PM

    Okay, Im officially a stalker…..Here’s her FB profile.lol

    http://www.facebook.com/profile.php?id=504946612&ref=search

    Maybe she will be open to doing an interview if you reach out to her. I’d love to hear about her natural hair experience especially being such a relevant figure in American culture.

  4. Ashleigh permalink
    Sunday, July 25, 2010 4:24 PM

    I think this is her!!!!! Samantha Berger

    http://www.radiocitychristmas.com/newyork/photos-radio-city-rockettes.html?gallery_id=443&type=slideshow&page=69

    • Sunday, July 25, 2010 5:23 PM

      OMG thank you thank you thank you!!!!! I just found her on FB and sent her a message who knows if she’ll respond but I’ve done all I can do. Thanks for the help and support guys!

      xoxox

  5. Saturday, July 24, 2010 5:32 PM

    WHAT!?!??! A kinky haired Rockette? She’s so cute too! That *is* exciting. I love your blog btw. I’ve got texturized hair and have been flirting with going natural for a few months now. I wear it curly or straight, but mostly in these past few months it’s been wet it and go.

    • Sunday, July 25, 2010 5:28 PM

      I’m glad someone shares my surprise. Thanks for stopping. Subscribe, hopefully in the near future I’ll get the interview. *fingers crossed super tight*

  6. Ansley permalink
    Friday, July 23, 2010 1:33 PM

    hmmm wont hurt to call or shoot them an email i guess. or if you end up going to a show this year they might have her name in the program.

Leave a Reply

