Skip to content

Interview: A Newly Natural Christina

Monday, July 26, 2010

Name: Christina Brown
Age: 20
Location: Baltimore, MD

1. How long have you been natural?
My big chop was on June 12 but my last perm was February 13, 2010.

2. How long was your hair after the big chop (or/ and how long is your hair now?)
After the big chop my hair was pretty short. There wasn’t enough to grab in my hand. Now a month and some change later I have enough hair to grab in my hand and it hangs over my ears.

3. What products are you into so far?
I have been using the Suave Almond and Shea Butter conditioner for co-washing and leave-in. When that is finished I’m going to switch to Earthly Delight conditioner. I use the EcoStyler olive oil gel when I want curls and just spritz the Carols Daughter black vanilla leave in conditioner over it to soften up the gel and make my hair smell good. Also I’ve been using the African Pride oil.

4. What works best for you and what don’t you like?
I’m still experimenting with things but a wash and go works best for me right now.

5. What kind of reactions have you gotten? Have there been any support/ rejection/ dismissal?
I have gotten all kinds of reactions. Some people (who knew me when my hair was down my back) were almost in tears asking why? Some are very happy for me and others are like wooooow ok, I don’t get it.

6. What do you love most about the BC or going natural?
The BC boosted my self confidence. If your hair isn’t right nothing else looks right. Since getting my hair cut I can throw on whatever and feel great about it. And if my hair isn’t working out the way I wanted it to I just say whatever and throw on some earrings.

7. What was the biggest shock?
The biggest shock was how much I like being natural. I feel free.

8. Going into the BC and natural hair thing, what were your fears and how did you manage to get over them?
I was afraid of what people would think. I was afraid that they would think my reason for cutting my hair off was to follow other people. After a while I thought about it and talked with a friend who helped me get some F* it in my system. Another one of my fears was that I would look like an alien lol.

9. Would you ever lock your hair? If so, why? If not, why?
I thought about it but no. I like my hair being out and I look forward to frohawks in the future lol.

10. What changes, if any, have you made to your own personal style?
I think I’m more bohemian now.

11. Take this time to shout out anybody you like
Thank you Geneva (NaturalGMonet) for cutting my hair, helping me handle it and answering all my random questions. You helped me start this journey off on the right foot and I only see it getting better. Your support is greatly appreciated.

And of course you thank you to you, Kenge, for being excited for me. I plan on picking your brain too.

And Tiearra my mentee!!! I’m so excited for her lol. Last but by no means least, Jessica, my roomie, Maybe one day she’ll go natural.

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

