Skip to content

My Opinion on the Yaya Dacosta, Rutina Wesley Situation

Monday, July 26, 2010

Read about what prompted this post here.

My Opinion

Yaya Dacosta

Looking at Yaya’s natural hair texture I do not find it difficult to believe that those photos of her with her hair straight are simply from great work with a flat-iron.

See here

She certainly has some slickability with her side sweep (underneath) with leads me to think that a flat-iron can smooth the kinks out of her hair. My hair absolutely never goes straight when slicked. It is always wavy. I do think that the fact that photos (this photo taken in ’08) of her always feature a style where she has does a twist out or a braid out slightly confuses the eye about what texture to expect.

This is her in ’08 again

Yaya DaCosta at The 39th NAACP Image Awards - Arrivals

This is her February 12, 2009

Yaya DaCosta Model Yaya DaCosta attends the after party for 40th NAACP Image Awards held at the Beverly Hilton Hotel on February 12, 2009 in Los Angeles, California.  (Photo by Alberto E. Rodriguez/Getty Images for NAACP) *** Local Caption *** Yaya DaCosta

Yaya DaCosta Model Yaya DaCosta attends the after party for 40th NAACP Image Awards held at the Beverly Hilton Hotel on February 12, 2009 in Los Angeles, California.  (Photo by Alberto E. Rodriguez/Getty Images for NAACP) *** Local Caption *** Yaya DaCosta

Look at her edges. Just like I said. I actually would not be surprised if her hair was blown out.

Now look at her in 2010. Personally I find her hair has a wee bit too much body to be chemically straightened but again, I am no expert. I know some people can get there her to look just like it did when it was chemically altered. In the photo of her rocking her signature sidesweep, it’s obvious her hair texture has been altered in some way because the curls are locked much tighter and less frizzier than ever before.

Yaya DaCosta Actress Yaya DaCosta attends the after party for the premiere of the "Kids Are All Right" at Plein Sud on June 30, 2010 in New York City.

Yaya DaCosta Yaya Dacosta at the Village East cinema for the New York premiere for the movie "The Extra Man".

Now this is the photo that would really confuse the eye. Because it is up in a ponytail it really does like if she chemically straightened it. This photo was taken in Bryant Park this year.

Yaya DaCosta Actor Yaya DaCosta and dancer Jocey Dacosta Johnson attend Mercedes-Benz Fashion Week at Bryant Park on February 18, 2010 in New York City.

Rutina Wesley

When it comes to Rutina Wesley I believe MTO took a classic media tactic and used one of the most unflattering photos in order to carry their point. I mean, how can you compare a smile with bulging eyes?

I find it impossible to believe that that was the best photo of her wearing braids that they could find. Perhaps you would like to see photos of her looking more pleasant.

Rutina Wesley (U.S. TABS OUT) Actress Rutina Wesley poses for a photo backstage during MTV's Total Request Live at the MTV Times Square Studios January 22, 2008 in New York City.

Rutina Wesley Hair

 

So uh yes…I do think she is mighty cute with braids. I’m wondering if her hair is all natural and if the photos below are of her wearing weave or a wig. To be fair in this little comparison I’ve included photos of Rutina wearing her hair straight.

Share

5 Comments leave one →
  1. Sunday, February 19, 2012 7:15 PM

    I love YaYa Docosta…I happened to find you here as I’m watching her on an ANTM rerun. I’m natural and when I wear twist outs, my hair is similar to hers. When I use a flat iron, I can get it straight w/one pass of the flat iron. To get a good ironing, you have to blowdry the hair as straight as possible. I use a Denman brush to do this. When you flat iron, don’t use sections larger than an inch. I love Rutina, but she looks a lot better w/braids vs. a weave.

  2. Anonymous permalink
    Wednesday, August 3, 2011 10:42 AM

    are you kidding me?

    • Sunday, August 7, 2011 6:41 PM

      I’m not sure what you mean?

  3. nadine permalink
    Monday, July 26, 2010 10:57 PM

    what brand of hair does rutina wesley use for her braids?

    • Monday, July 26, 2010 10:59 PM

      Oh man I have no idea.

Leave a Reply

