Skip to content

Damn! #naturalhair Ridiculousness

Saturday, January 8, 2011
tags:

If you can squint a bit you will see that this 8 ounces of shea butter costs $48.

Whoa!

Let me say this, never EVER buy a natural hair product for more than $10 unless you are buying an enormous quantity. I am saying $15, but, I am being very generous my limit for any product is around $5. You can go up a bit or go down all the way but over $10 is rest assured outrageous.

Be especially wary of those brands who talk on and on about how wonderful their product is. REMEMBER: Check the top five ingredients. Those ingredients should be things you could ingest without, you know, dying or getting ill.

At any rate if you are paying more than $10 for a product it should NOT have in any petroleum, petrolatum, mineral oil or liquid paraffin. IF you are going to pay so much you should be getting 100% the real deal!

Stay vigilant,

7 Comments leave one →
  1. Friday, September 9, 2011 10:20 AM

    $48!!!! I wouldn’t buy Shea butter for that price, who in their right mind would when there are so many pure natural and organic Shea butters on the market for a fraction of the price?! I would pay a large amount for a rare oil that would do wonders for my hair but I don’t like to spend more than $20 on a product.

    In health food stores and hair shops geared towards natural products the prices are between $7-$17.00. I think this is fair considering you are getting potent, nutritious products for your body. Keep in mind this is Canadian prices and few years ago your $5.00 product would be like $8.00 here.
    NC

  2. iusedtolovehim permalink
    Tuesday, March 15, 2011 1:54 PM

    My first thought upon seeing the price is, on top of it being so costly, if it really is all natural there should be a short shelf life. So you might not even get to use all the product up. SMH!

  3. lilkunta permalink
    Tuesday, February 22, 2011 11:22 AM

    ” REMEMBER: Check the top five ingredients. Those ingredients should be things you could ingest without, you know, dying or getting ill. At any rate if you are paying more than $10 for a product it should NOT have in any petroleum, petrolatum, mineral oil or liquid paraffin. ”

    Thank you for this. I didnt know that. I have been using Softee Vitamin E Hair Food, its top 5 are: petrolatum, minral oil, lanolin, wheat germ oil, ocopherol acetate, parrafin, etc .

    I have been using Blue Velvet Coconut Oil Hair Conditioner. Its top 5 are Petrolatm, Minerla Oil, coconut oil, sesame oil, ozokerite, microcrystalline wax, fragrance, propylparaben. Should I throw them out ?

    I’ve been hearing alot lately that natural products are better bc our scalp pores and arm pores, etc absorb the greases, lotions, perfumes into out blood.

    Thanks.

  4. Amber permalink
    Monday, January 31, 2011 3:40 PM

    I have actually gotten my hair done at that salon. Not only are the hair products overpriced, but the service was only okay. They did try to get me to buy the products and I had to gracefully DECLINE. The hair services are also quite pricey, but too their credit I did enjoy my hairstyle.

  5. Sunday, January 9, 2011 10:16 AM

    Do you think that the oil companies incorporated their waste product in other products (like shea butter e.g. petroleum) just to try to make more of a product?

    • Monday, January 10, 2011 12:09 AM

      hi,

      Unfortunately the whole indians ate and used the whole buffalo philosophy holds strong when you are in a business so yes I so, its understandable. I completely understand. However, what I dislike is when they try to market it as beneficial…like how to completely strip sea salt for all the otherwise beneficial elements and resell those elements AND the sodium chloride and sprinkle a little iodide on…all waste reused is better financially

Leave a comment